Each year, the CSBE/SCGAB presents Awards and Grade of Fellows to celebrate and encourage excellence within the Canadian bioengineering community.
Please consider nominating a member. The nominations must be received by the Committees by May 1.

Fellow Awards

The designation "Grade of Fellow" shall have honorary status, to which members of distinction may be elected, but for which they may not apply. A Fellow shall be a member of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in the field of agricultural, food, and/or biological engineering, and shall have met all the requirements for the grade of member. A Fellow shall have been a member of the Society for ten years, and have twenty years of active practice in the profession. 

Nomination as a Fellow may be made to the Fellows Committee by ten members in good standing. To be elected, a nominee must be unanimously approved by all members of the Fellows Committee.

Awards and Fellow status are given for outstanding contributions through work in one or more of the following:

  • Design and development based on originality, practicality, and applicability; the awardee must have made the major contribution to the concepts, design or development recognized.
  • Extension and management based on a record of high quality work in agricultural, food, and/or biological engineering extension such as leading in extension education through groups or T.V., or by assisting farmers in innovation of new farmstead systems or components. Alternatively, the awardee may be recognized for outstanding managerial work in the food processing industry, building firms, machinery firms, irrigation firms or land drainage.
  • Teaching and/or research based on a record of good teaching involving innovation in teaching or course development, and professional and enthusiastic leadership to students. Alternatively, the Awardee may be recognized for research abilities and achievements through the development of new theoretical concepts, or the design and execution of good experiments to prove conclusively the answer to some questions of value to agricultural, food and/or biological engineering.

Prepare a nomination for the grade of Fellow

2019    Venkatesh Meda
2019    Danny Mann
2018    Dennis Hodgkinson
2018    Sylvio Tessier
2018    Stéphane Godbout
2017    Valérie Orsat
2017    Srti Ranjan
2017    Ying Chen
2016    Micheal Ngadi
2016    Ronald MacDonald
2015    Yves Choinière
2015    Qiang Zhang
2014    Rick Atkins
2013    Doug D. Small
2013    Clement K. Sankat
2012    Stefan Cenkowski
2011    No award
2010    Gauri Mittal, Bernard Panneton
2009    No award
2008    Robert Kok    Robert Kok    Ali Madani    Hosahalli Ramaswamy                
2007    Suzelle F. Barrington    Daniel I. Massé    Neil B. McLaughlin    William E. Muir    Shiv Om Prasher   James S. Townsend    Philippe Savoie
2006    David R. Hundeby                            
2005    Digvir S. Jayas    Chandra A. Madramootoo    Ramesh P. Rudra                    
2004    Abdel Ghaly    Pierre J. Jutras    Egon Rapp    Clément Vigneault                
2003    Wayne E. Coates    Shahab Sokanhsanj                        
2002    Ernest M. Barber    J. Brian McQuitty                        
2001    John J. Feddes    Jerry Leonard    K.Victor Lo    Aly Shady                
2000    John K. Higgins    Edward McKyes    Gerald Misener    Lambert Otten    G.S.Vijaya Raghavan            
1999    Radhey Lal Kushwaha    Eric R. Norris    Angèle St. Yves    K. Chris Watts                
1998    Donald A. Allen    Paul J. Barlott    M.G. (Ron) Britton    Dennis Darby    Graeme. Linkletter    Donald I. Norum    E. Martin Wrubleski    
1997    No awards                            
1996    No awards   
1995    Norman A. Bird                            
1994    Denis Désilets                            
1993    No awards                            
1992    Jan C. Jofriet                            
1991    No awards                            
1990    Haines E. Bellman*                            
1989    Walter K. Bilanski    Mottie Feldman                        
1988    John E. Turnbull                            
1987    Len M. Staley*                            
1986    No awards                            
1985    David C. Milligan                            
1984    Garland A. Laliberte    Eric B. Moysey                        
1983    Earl D. Gilchrist    Jacob Pos                        
1982    J. Edward Brubaker*    Kenneth W.Domier                        
1981    Robert S. Broughton    Fenton V. McHardy    John R .Ogilvie    Gerald C.Zoerb
1980    No awards  
1979    Edward P. Hudek    Oliver  L. Symes*                        
1978    Herbert M. Lapp    Barney T. Stephanson*                        
1977    Frank H. Theakston                            
1976    Hugh D. Ayers    J. Arnold Roberts*                        
1975    D. Tracy Anderson*                            
1974    Ray P. Frey*    J. K. MacKenzie*    Glen L.Shanks*    W. C. Wilcox*                
1973    Jim Beamish*    Glenn C.E. Downing*