Each year, the CSBE/SCGAB presents Awards and Grade of Fellows to celebrate and encourage excellence within the Canadian bioengineering community.
Please consider nominating a member. The nominations must be received by the Committees by May 1.

John Clark Award

This award, in memory of John Clark, is given annually to the CSBE/SCGAB member who, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, has produced outstanding work in industry, teaching, research, or extension in one or more of the fields of food engineering, or related industry. The award recipient is selected from nominations from at least three members of CSBE/SCGAB and must have been a member of the Society for at five years.

Ce prix, désigné à la mémoire de Monsieur John Clark, est décerné chaque année à un membre qui s'est distingué dans le domaine du génie alimentaire ou dans une industrie connexe par l'enseignement, la recherche, la vulgarisation ou le travail en industrie. Le récipiendaire du prix John-Clark est choisi parmi les candidats mis en nomination par trois membres et est membre de la SCGAB/CSBE depuis au moins cinq ans.

Nomination Form

clark.rtf | clark.pdf

2014 John Clark Award

rattiCRISTINA RATTI, PhD is the recipient of the 2014 John Clark Award in recognition of her dedicated contributions to the food engineering profession.  Cristina is originally from Bahia Blanca, Argentina, graduated as a chemical engineer from Universidad Nacional del Sur (Bahia Blanca) and began her graduate studies in food engineering at the same institution under the supervision of Dr Enrique Rotstein and Dr Guillermo Crapiste. She obtained a PhD in chemical engineering in 1991 with her thesis on the “Design of batch air dryers for fruit and vegetable products.” Her three postdoctoral placements were undertaken at three academic institutions in collaboration with Dr Arun Mujumdar (Chemical Engineering, McGill University, Canada) from 1991 to 1993, Dr Vijaya Raghavan (Bioresource Engineering, McGill University) from 1993 to 1995, and Dr Guillermo Crapiste in PLAPIQUI (Chemical Engineering Institute, Bahia Blanca) from 1995 to 1996.In 1996 she joined the Soils and Agri-Food Engineering Department of Université Laval (Québec, Canada) as a professor of food engineering. She is presently a full professor and a member of the Institute of Nutrition and Functional Foods INAF (since 2003). Her research interests have always been related to food dehydration (air drying, freeze-drying, osmotic dehydration) and physicochemical and quality properties of foodstuffs related to drying. She has published numerous scientific manuscripts and contributed to the training of many graduate and undergraduate students on the science of food engineering and dehydration.

2013 John Clark Award

medaDr. Meda started at the Department of Agricultural and Bioresource (now, Chemical and Biological Engineering) Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan in August 2002. Prior to this position, Dr. Meda worked as a Project Development Officer, Office of Vice-President (research and International), McGill University during 2000-2002. He was a graduate research associate at the faculty of Agriculture and Environment Sciences, Macdonald Campus of McGill University during 1994-2000. He has extensively participated in discussion(s) /seminars conducted by CIDA, World Bank, ADB on poverty reduction, food safety and security, rural development and International agriculture topics. Dr. Meda has a well established research program on utilising electrotechnologies (microwaves, radio frequency, infrared, UV energy spectrum) for treating and processing agricultural, food, feed and biological materials in Western Canada. His expertise in drying and extraction technologies has been instrumental in revitalisation of Saskatchewan’s fruit processing industry (key example include; Saskatoon berry drying for enhanced shelf-life, neutraceutical and health benefits for industrial applications) by his contributions related to the vacuum-microwave assisted drying technology for heat sensitive products. 


2019    Fuji Jian
2018    Oon-Doo Baik
2017    Jitendra Paliwal
2016    Su-Ling Brooks
2015    Valérie Orsat
2014    Cristina Ratti
2013    Venkatesh Meda
2012    No award
2011    No award
2010    Michèle Marcotte
2009    Lope Tabil
2008    Michael O. Ngadi
2007    Stephen P. Clarke
2006    Clément Vigneault
2005    Stefan Cenkowski
2004    No award
2003    Ralph B. Brown
2002    Hosahalli Ramaswamy
2001    Digvir S. Jayas
2000    Denyse. I. LeBlanc
1999    Jerry J. Leonard
1998    Marvin A. Tung*
1997    N. Ross Bulley
1996    No award
1995    Regis J. Boily*
1994    Gauri S. Mittal
1993    Abdel E. Ghaly
1992    N. Eric Jensen
1991    Shahab Sokhansaj
1990    G.S. Vijay Raghavan
1989    Wm. E. Muir
1988    Lambert Otten
1987    No award
1986    Chris Dyble*

* Deceased