Tuesday, 06 July 2010 11:47

News from the Univerity of Manitoba Biosystems Engineering Dept

Suresh Neethirajan, a recent PhD graduate and a postdoctoral fellow from the Department of Biosystems Engineering has been awarded multiple international awards for his academic and research excellence. Suresh received the prestigious Obei-Tanki Fellowship from the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science to work as a visiting researcher at the National Food Research Institute, Tsukuba. The Obei-Tanki Fellowship is only awarded once per researcher in their lifetime. Suresh is also a recipient of Humboldt Fellowship from Alexander Von Humboldt Foundation, Germany and the 2010 NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship from Canada to work at the Max Planck Institute, Germany and at The Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee respectively.

Univerity of Manitoba Biosystems Engineering Department News (May 3, 2010)

Digvir Jayas was inducted as a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada on February 27, 2010. Dr. Jason Morrison is being recognized at the Seventeenth Annual Students' Teacher Recognition Reception on May 6, 2010. Tyler Grant, graduating Biosystems Engineering student, was nominated by the Faculty of Engineering to select two teachers to honour; one from their kindergarten to grade 12 years and one from their years at the University of Manitoba. Tyler has chosen to recognize Jason.

Biosystems Engineering graduating student, Megan Lusty, received the 2010 Student Affairs Participation Award. Megan has been involved with the University of Manitoba Engineering Society Council for the past four years, including the role of Senior Stick in 2009-2010.

Stefan Cenkowski was invited by the university of Warmia-Mazury to give an open lecture. Open lectures are given by internationally recognized scientists and are related to the areas of interest proposed by scientific institutions participating in the project “Investment into science – Investment into future". The project is sponsored by three scientific centers from Krakow, Olsztyn, and Warsaw and is co-financed by the European Union. Stefan made two presentations at Warmia-Mazury University in Olsztyn (1. Renewable sources of energy – potential of solar and wind energy and 2. Trends in research on bioprocess engineering) and two at the University of Life Sciences in Wroclaw (1. Global energy crisis or new opportunities and 2. The annual evaluation process of the academic staff at U of M).

We continue to have a presence at the provincial Science Symposium. The CSBE/SCGAB Biosystems Engineering Awards were awarded at the Manitoba Schools Science Symposium held on the last weekend of April at the University of Winnipeg campus. In the Intermediate category, the award went to Hongru Ren an Andres Lee of Acadia Junior High for a project entitled “Biodiesel Production in Canola and Soybean Press Meals Using In-situ Transesterification.” In the Senior category, the award went to Barbar Lattova and Elisia Jones of Shaftesbury High School for a project entitled “Calculating Percentage of Fat in Meats Using NMR Technology ”. A special thanks to Derek Inglis for organizing the necessary judges on behalf of CSBE/SCGAB.

As of May 2010, Dr. Fuji Jian has joined the Department as a Research Associate for Dr. Jayas. Dr. Jian will also be responsible for teaching courses in the area of grain storage

Read 11013 times
Russ Parker

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Submit your news

The CSBE is looking for news from its members!

Please send your text with good resolution pictures to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Your news will be published in the next Perspectives Newsletter.

Search for News