Friday, 24 June 2011 09:03

News from the University of Manitoba Biosystems Engineering Department

Congratulations to the following Biosystems engineering students who will receive their degrees at the spring convocation:

  • B.Sc. Degree:  Tobias Becker, Warren Blunt, Leno Guzman, Esaias Jordaan, Annette Kroeker, Grant Rayner, Ronnie Robinson, and Archana Uprety.
  • M.Sc. Degree:  David Ennis, Elsie Jordaan, Michelle Paetkau, Hin Yat Tang, and Nathan Wrana.


New specialization options for undergraduate students in Biosystems Engineering


There are several new academic options available to Biosystems engineering students. The Department has introduced five Specializations in Agricultural, Biomedical, Bioprocessing, Environmental, and Sustainable Building Systems. Students have the opportunity to take 27 credit hours of courses related to one of these areas and to graduate with the Specialization noted on their transcript. The Department of Biosystems Engineering has also worked closely with the Department of Agribusiness & Agricultural Economics to develop a Minor in Agribusiness for Biosystems engineering students. It is anticipated that these new curriculum opportunities will help prepare our engineering graduates for successful careers.

Graduate Scholarship and Award winners

Mahesh Sivakumar, Umesh Ramachandran and Rumana Islam, PhD students from the department of Biosystems Engineering has been awarded W.E.Muir Scholarship for Academic Excellence in Biosystems Engineering. Senthilkumar Thiruppathi (PhD student) was awarded Edward R.Toporeck Graduate Fellowship for Excellence in Engineering. Congratulations to award winners!

CSBE Awards for School Students

CSBE makes it presence every year in Manitoba School Science symposium and encourages young scientists by recognise their engineering thoughts. 40th Manitoba School Science Symposium held on April 28 - May 1 at Maxbell Centre, University of Manitoba. Elsa Kakka won CSBE/ SCGAB award at intermediate category for her project “Direct fermentation of pre-treated and processed Cellulosic feedstocks using Clostridium thermocellum”. J.P. Austria and Julian Sanchez won CSBE/ SCGAB award for their project entitled “UV radiation, conventional filter and chemical tablets: Water Purification”. Special thanks to Mr. Derek Inglis for organizing this event and volunteer judges.

Read 11588 times Last modified on Friday, 24 June 2011 09:17
Chella Vellaichamy

tel: 204-474-7292

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Submit your news

The CSBE is looking for news from its members!

Please send your text with good resolution pictures to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Your news will be published in the next Perspectives Newsletter.

Search for News