Saturday, 22 October 2011 21:31

News from the University of Manitoba Biosystems Engineering Department

In Fall 2001, Department of Biosystems Engineering welcomes 23 new undergraduate students and 7 new graduate students. With these new comers, department strength becomes 93 undergraduate and 50 graduate students.

Scholarship and awards

Warren Blunt was the recipient of the Faculty of Engineering Medal in Biosystems Engineering for highest standing in the Biosystems Program among graduating students.

Warren Blunt also received the Biosystems Engineering Undergraduate Thesis Award for the 2010- 2011 year for his thesis entitled “A novel method for online data acquisition for biofuel production using a titrimetric and off-gas analysis (TOGA) sensor.”

Warren Blunt, Jennifer Brown and Darren Hart received the John Shewchuk Engineering Design Award – Biosystems for 2011 for their project entitled “Design of a lab-scale hotbox for testing thermal properties of alternative building materials.”

The Dr. G.E. Laliberte and the Dr. N.R. Bulley Scholarships were created to honour

two former professors for the undergraduate students entering the Department of Biosystems Engineering. Recepients of 2011 Laliberte Scholarship are Carol Musoke and Japandeep Sethi. and Bulley Scholarship awarded to Ingrid Baragar and Samantha Symons.

Dr. Jason Morrison received the Biosystems Engineering Graduating Class Award for Excellence in Teaching; this award is selected by students in the graduating class.

2011 ASABE Quarter Scale Tractor competition – U of M finishes in Top Five

The University of Manitoba Quarter-Scale Tractor Team had a very successful showing at the 2011 IQS Competition in Peoria, Illinois. The competition is open to schools across the world and is hosted by ASABE. This year brought out 27 teams, with three from Canada, and the remaining from the US. Manitoba placed second in the tractor pull and second in design judging, finishing in 5th place overall, winning the Most Improved Award. The team also won Best Appearance and Best Craftsmanship for their work on Penelope 2.0. University of Manitoba was up against some tough competition with Kansas State University, University of Kentucky, Purdue University, and the University of Saskatchewan rounding out the top five positions.

UofM quarter scale


Dr. Digvir Jayas was elected as President of Agricultural Institute of Canada (AIC) Board of Directors, for the year 2011-2012. He joined the AIC Board on 2006, and re-elected in 2009.

Dr. Prabal Ghosh has been appointed Policy Analyst – Food for Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives, responsible for analysis and development of food policies, particularly those related to food processing sector development, agri-food product development and food safety.  Prabal is a 9-year member of CSBE.

Digvir Jayas enters Elite 300 club

Distinguished Professor Dr. Digvir Jayas is a father, husband, teacher, researcher, vice-president of research at the oldest university in Western Canada, and now he’s a member of the 300 club: his 300th refereed article has been approved for publication.

His first refereed article, “Finite element modelling of carbon dioxide diffusion in stored wheat”, was published in 1983 and appeared in the Canadian Agricultural Engineering. His 300th article, written just 25 years after he obtained his PhD, is titled: “Synchrotron based infrared imaging study of compositional changes in stored wheat due to infection with Aspergillus Glaucus”. It will be published in an upcoming Journal of Stored Products Research.

Read 11623 times
Chella Vellaichamy

tel: 204-474-7292

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Submit your news

The CSBE is looking for news from its members!

Please send your text with good resolution pictures to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Your news will be published in the next Perspectives Newsletter.

Search for News