Tuesday, 06 July 2010 11:02

ABE Department News

(with contributions from L. Tabil)

ABE students win in engineering design and student paper competition

(excerpted from College of Engineering media release)

The 2010 Engineering Innovative Design and Student Paper Competitions was held at Marquis Hall at the University of Saskatchewan in March 24, 2010. Fourteen teams presented their innovative engineering design and paper ideas. In both the design and paper competitions, the teams that placed first won $1000. The second place winner received $500 and third place received $300.

In the Student Paper Competition, recognition is given to graduating engineering students who give the best oral presentation on a certain engineering topic which could be a fourth-year design project or a class-related engineering project that the students have been involved with. ABE students Ian Farthing, Joel Hill and Scott Theede won first place for their project on measuring methane production from digested sludge.

Joel Hill, Scott Theede, Ian FarthingJoel Hill, Scott Theede, Ian Farthing from ABE won first place in the Student Paper Competition. (Photo credit: Doris Wang)

The Innovative Design Competition recognizes graduating engineering students whose innovative design, process, or technological development would have potential for industry application and contributions to society. ABE students Tyrone Keep, Stephan Kopchynski, and Zacharie Martin placed third in the design competition for their project on mechanical design and analysis of a field goniometer used in the acquisition of bidirectional reflectance distribution function.

Stephan Kopchynski, Zacharie Martin, and Tyrone Keep

Stephan Kopchynski, Zacharie Martin, and Tyrone Keep with their poster on the project which won third place in the Design competition (Photo credit: Doris Wang).

Graduation Banquet for 2010 ABE Graduates

A banquet was held to honor the 2010 Graduands of the Agricultural and Bioresource Engineering program at Radisson Hotel on March 26, 2010. The event was attended by 18 of the 19 graduands as well as their parents, loved ones and faculty of the department. Congratulations to the 19 graduands, namely, Steffen Bertelsen, Stacey Braun, Gregory Christensen, Derek Dobko, Justin Equina, Ian Farthing, Scott Gerbrandt, Brian Gould, Joel Hill, Stefan Kopchinsky, Brent Laroque, Tammy Mantyka, Zacharie Martin, Joel McDonald, Laura McNary, Josh Quintal, Bibian Rajakumar, John Stephenson and Scott Theede.

Draduation banquet

Update on recent graduate

Dr. Sabyasachi MishraIn February 2010, Dr. Sabyasachi Mishra (photo to right), a recent PhD graduate from the ABE program, has joined the Central Agricultural University at Gangtok campus, India, as Associate Professor in Process and Food Engineering in the College of Agricultural Engineering and Postharvest Technology (www.caepht.ernet.in). Prior to this appointment, Dr. Mishra has worked as Postdoctoral Fellow with Dr. Digvir Jayas. In his current position, Dr. Mishra is involved with teaching, research, and extension work in the area of processing and value addition of grain and horticultural crops. As of March 30, 2010, he was appointed as head of the department. His contact information is: Dr. SabyasachiMishra, Head & Associate Professor, Dept of Process & Food Engineering, College of Agri Eng & Post Harvest Tech (CAEPHT), Central Agricultural University (CAU), Ranipool, Gangtok, Sikkim 737135 India, Email: s.mishra[at]usask.ca.

Read 9029 times Last modified on Tuesday, 06 July 2010 11:30
Bernardo Predicala

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Submit your news

The CSBE is looking for news from its members!

Please send your text with good resolution pictures to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Your news will be published in the next Perspectives Newsletter.

Search for News